Types of surrogacy

There are two types of surrogacy.

Traditional surrogacy:

In Traditional surrogacy, the surrogate donates her egg as well as lends the uterus to bear the child of the intended parents. The IUI process is carried out to impregnate the surrogate.

IUI Process:

The sperm of the biological father is taken and transferred into the uterus of the surrogate so that natural fertilization takes place. The IUI process also means that the surrogate is the biological mother of the child. It is not a very common surrogacy process but it is highly useful if the egg and sperm of the biological mother and father cannot be used further.

Gestational Surrogacy:

This is a type of surrogacy wherein the surrogate’s egg will not be used at all. In Gestational surrogacy, the embryo is created by using the sperm of the biological father and the egg of the biological mother through a process called In Vitro Fertilization (IVF).

The sperm and egg of the biological parents are fertilized in the laboratory to form an embryo. It usually takes three to five weeks for the egg and sperm to be fertilized and form an embryo. The embryo will then be transferred to the uterus of the surrogate and the pregnancy process will begin till the birth of the child.

The success rate of IVF depends on the age and health of the biological mother who provides the eggs. The success rate is higher if the egg is taken from the fertile women than the infertile ones.